top of page


The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan is a constitutional monarchy that has taken the present shape since 1949. Prior to this and as of 1921, it was known as the Emirate of Trans-Jordan. Jordan has 12 governorates, including the capital city, Amman. The legal system is based on Islamic law and French codes.


Jordan is located in the heart of the Middle East; bordering Saudi Arabia to the east and south, Iraq to the north-east, Syria to the north, Israel / Palestine and the Dead Sea to the west, and the Red Sea to the south-west. Jordan has a total area of 92,300 square kilometres, including a 26 kilometre coastline along the Red Sea at Aqaba Bay, the only sea port in the country.


Jordan enjoys a Mediterranean climate, with very hot summers reaching up to  40°C, and cool winters reaching 0°C.

jordan map.png


  • Capital: Amman

  • Population: 10,458,413  (2018 est.)

  • Currency: Jordanian Dinar (JOD)

  • Exchange rate: USD 1 = JOD 0.71 (pegged)

  • GDP (PPP):

    • Total: $93.159 billion (2018 est.)

    • Per capita: $9,406 (2018 est.)

  • GDP (nominal)

    • Total: $41.869 billion

    • Per capita: $4,228

  • Unemployment Rate: 18.3% (2017 est.)

  • Unemployment, youth ages 15-24 years: 35.6%

  • Population below poverty line: 14.2% (2002 est.)

bottom of page